Skip to content

Diptford Parish Council

Welcome to the official website for Diptford Parish Council

About the Parish

Diptford is a small rural parish situated centrally within the South Hams area of South Devon, with an estimated population of around 550 persons.  A large part of the parish, including the village of Diptford itself, is situated within the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), with the River Avon forming the western boundary.

Diptford village itself houses more than half the parish population.  In addition, there are several hamlets within the Parish, the main ones being Curtisknowle, Horner, Murtwell and Larcombe.

The parish of Diptford can be dated from Saxon times, with four Manors mentioned in Domesday.  Farming remains the main occupation, but in the 18th and 19th centuries there was slate and limestone production.

Within the parish, there is a thriving primary school and a very lively community, with activities focused around the village hall and playing field.

Image 01 Image 02 Image 03 Image 04 Image 05